La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich

Tested by
travel expert
Joanna

Individual ratings for La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich

Location

The 5-star hotel sits directly on the shore of Lake Zurich, right behind the city’s opera house in the Seefeld Quarter.

Ambience

Originally built in 1909 and recently refurbished by celebrated designer Philippe Starck, this classy house resembles a yacht club. Rare mahogany wood, oars, boat keels set in resin and photographs of sailing ships commemorate the world of seafaring and brilliantly strike up the connection with the lake outside.

Infrastructure

2 restaurants, roof terrace, bar, smoking room, and gym

Culinary

“The Kitchen”, the main restaurant on the ground floor serves Italian cuisine with influences from around the globe. For Peruvian-Japanese specialities, try the rooftop restaurant “La Muña” with its 360° panoramic view of Zurich’s historic town centre, the lake and the Swiss Alps.

Rooms

40 elegantly modern rooms and suites in light earthy colours are spread across five floors. Exposed brick walls, delicate rattan, and nautical charts create a pleasant ambience. The rooms overlooking Lake Zurich make you feel as if you were floating on the water. A breeze blowing through the open windows will fill the white curtains like sails. All rooms are equipped with a Nespresso coffee machine and a complimentary alcohol-free minibar.

Service

Pleasantly casual, professionally competent and efficient. Special requests are directly taken care of.

La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich Hotel, Zürich

Philippe Starck, one of the most popular designers of our day and age, blended the essence of his many travels into an extravagant design cocktail inside the historic building of the Eden au Lac. Here, the Nordics meet Latin America, and the Mediterranean meets Zurich – and yet it all comes together beautifully in a homogeneous whole. What the celebrated designer had in mind was a modern yacht club for Zurich. There are plenty of maritime objects to admire: oars, hulls, black & white photographs and paintings of sailing ships and captains along with nautical charts. The extroverted architecture of the house ensures that the lake presents itself anywhere you go. The large lift that takes guests up to their rooms and to the roof terrace is set inside a glass enclosure. On your way up, you can therefore admire the stained-glass windows by artist Ara Stark. Her artwork creates moving landscapes that change in the course of the day as the angle of the sunlight shifts. Beneath the historic roof dome lies the Peruvian-Japanese rooftop restaurant “La Muña”. The neatly arranged furniture looks as if it had always already been here. Cosy leather couches and wing chairs with floral patterns radiate a sense of ease, and the rugs seem like collector’s items form travels to Persia or the Far East. Everywhere you look, there is something new to discover. Mysterious objects from the four corners of the earth and photographs will awaken your wanderlust. Cosmopolites tend to feel magically attracted to La Réserve Eden au Lac, and this may explain the easy-going ambience in the public rooms, but it is most enchanting on the two roof terraces.

Price range €€€
The view of Lake Zurich that you get from both restaurants and from many of the rooms is unique. The perfect place to stay for a city trip with lake access and yacht club feeling. In the summertime, the lakeside pool of Seebad Utoquai right across from the hotel is the perfect place for a dip.
Sadly, there is no spa for rainy days.

Location: Zürich | Zurich

La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich
Utoquai 45 · 8008 Zürich

lareserve-zurich.com
reservations@lareserve-zurich.com

Pillow & Pepper Insiderwissen

La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich

Getestet von
Reiseexpertin
Joanna

Einzelbewertungen für La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich

Lage

Das 5-Sterne-Hotel liegt direkt am Ufer des Zürichsees und hinter dem Opernhaus im Seefeld-Quartier.

Ambiente

Das stilvoll von Stardesigner Philippe Starck frisch renovierte Haus aus dem Jahre 1909 ist einem Yachtclub nachempfunden. Edles Mahagoniholz, Ruder, in Harz fixierte Schiffskiele und Fotografien von Segelschiffen erinnern an die Welt der Seefahrt und schaffen eine gelungene Verbindung zum See.

Infrastruktur

2 Restaurants, Dachterrasse, Bar, Fumoir und Fitnessraum

Kulinarik

Italienische Küche mit Einflüssen aus aller Welt im Hauptrestaurant "The Kitchen" im Erdgeschoss. Peruanisch-japanische Kreationen im Rooftop-Restaurant "La Muña" mit spektakulärem 360-Grad-Panorama auf die Zürcher Altstadt, den See und die Alpen.

Zimmer

40 elegant-moderne Zimmer und Suiten in hellen Erdtönen verteilen sich auf fünf Stockwerke. Sichtbare Backsteinwände, feines Rattan und nautische Seekarten schaffen ein wohliges Ambiente. In den Zimmern mit Blick auf den Zürichsee hat man das Gefühl auf dem See zu floaten. Bei geöffneten Fenstern bauschen sich die langen weissen Vorhänge wie Segel im Wind. Alle Zimmer mit Nespresso-Kaffeemaschine und kostenloser alkoholfreier Minibar.

Service

Angenehm unverkrampft, fachlich kompetent und effizient. Auf Sonderwünsche wird umgehend eingegangen.

La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich Hotel, Zürich

Philippe Starck, einer der populärsten Designer der Gegenwart, hat die Essenz seiner vielen Reisen im historischen Gebäude Eden au Lac zu einem extravaganten Design-Cocktail gemixt. Da trifft Skandinavien auf Südamerika und das Mittelmeer auf Zürich - und doch passt alles auf wunderbare Weise zusammen. Der Stardesigner hat sich einen modernen Yachtclub für Zürich ausgedacht. Zahlreiche Objekte erinnern an die Seefahrt: Ruder, Schiffsrümpfe, Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografien und Gemälde von Segelschiffen und Kapitänen sowie nautische Seekarten. Die nach aussen gewandte Architektur des Hauses sorgt dafür, dass der See überall präsent ist. Der grosse Aufzug, der die Gäste in die Zimmer und auf die Dachterrasse bringt, ist in einen Glaskasten eingefasst. Auf dem Weg nach oben kann man die Glasfenster der Künstlerin Ara Starck bewundern. Ihre Werke erschaffen bewegliche Landschaften, die sich im Laufe des Tages je nach Lichteinfall verändern. Unter der historischen Dachkuppel thront das peruanisch-japanische Roof-top Restaurant "La Muña". Das Mobiliar wirkt, als hätte es schon immer hier gestanden. Bequeme Ledersofas und Ohrensessel mit Blumenmuster strahlen Gemütlichkeit aus und die Teppiche wirken wie Fundstücke von Reisen nach Persien oder Asien. Wohin man schaut, immer wieder entdeckt man etwas Neues. Geheimnisvolle Gegenstände aus aller Welt und Fotografien wecken die Reiselust. Kosmopoliten fühlen sich vom La Réserve Eden au Lac magisch angezogen, entsprechend unbeschwert ist das Lebensgefühl in den öffentlichen Räumen, jedoch am schönsten auf den zwei Dachterrassen.

Preisskala €€€
Der Blick auf den Zürichsee, den man aus den beiden Restaurants und von vielen Zimmern hat, ist einmalig. Perfekt für einen City-Trip mit Seeanstoss und Yachtclub-Feeling. Im Sommer lockt gleich gegenüber das Seebad Utoquai für einen Sprung ins Wasser.

Es fehlt ein Spa für Schlechtwettertage.

Standort: Zürich | Zürich

La Réserve Eden au Lac Zurich
Utoquai 45 · 8008 Zürich

lareserve-zurich.com
reservations@lareserve-zurich.com

Pillow & Pepper Insiderwissen