Steirereck

Tested by
travel expert
Joanna

Individual ratings for Steirereck

Location
The restaurant is located in the heart of Vienna's Stadtpark.
Ambience
Subtle, timeless design in earthy colours with a Nordic touch.
Infrastructure
Restaurant, bar with smoking section, and dairy.
Culinary
Modern Austrian cuisine that puts the product front and centre. Vegetables, salads, herbs and fruit are grown at the restaurant's proprietary farm. Making no secret of his deep respect for the land, Heinz Reitbauer composes sophisticated dishes from regional produce. Awarded two Michelin stars.
Wine List
Extensive wine list featuring about 4,500 vintages, the focus being on wines from the Wachau region.
Service
The wait staff under the aegis of Birgit Reitbauer is friendly, competent and solicitous.

Steirereck Restaurant, Wien

The Steirereck is the best-known restaurant in Vienna or indeed anywhere in Austria. In 2005, Heinz Reitbauer Jr. took over the legendary Steirereck from his parents. In 2014, the airy glass cube in Vienna's Stadtpark underwent a complete overhaul. Plenty of glass, serrated wood-panelling, Styrian cement floors, and Danubian sandstone combine to create a new expansive ambience. We took our seats at one of the tables decked out in white, and immerse ourselves in the very promising menu. For starters, we ordered the warm artichoke salad with herbs and stock of artichoke followed by crayfish with parsnip cream cheese strudel and lime-scented butter. Our main course was the wienerschnitzel from milk-fed calf – its breaded coating a crisp gold, its inside perfectly tender and succulent. For dessert we had a fluffy Isabella grape soufflé with candied Schönbrunn, orange complemented by white-chocolate buttermilk ice cream. With every course having been sheer bliss, we agree that the Steirereck's reputation as Vienna's finest restaurant is well deserved. Closed on: Saturdays and Sundays
Price range €€€
We love Heinz Reitbauer's creative dishes, especially in combination with the way they are presented – from the opulent bread cart stocked with 25 varieties of bread, to the little notes that come with every dish, and all the way to the legendary cheese cart.
Since the restaurant is closed on weekends, be sure to travel to Vienna no later than Friday lest you miss out on Heinz Reitbauer's cuisine.

Location: Wien | Austria

Steirereck
Am Heumarkt 2A · 1030 Wien
Phone +43 1 713 31 68

wien@steirereck.at
https://www.steirereck.at

Pillow & Pepper Insiderwissen

Steirereck

Getestet von
Reiseexpertin
Joanna

Einzelbewertungen für Steirereck

Lage
Das Restaurant liegt inmitten des Stadtparks.
Ambiente
Skandinavisch anmutendes Design in Naturtönen und dezenter Zeitlosigkeit.
Infrastruktur
Restaurant, Bar mit Raucherzone und Meierei.
Kulinarik
Moderne österreichische Küche, die das Produkt aufs Podest stellt. Gemüse, Salate, Kräuter und Früchte stammen vom eigenen Landwirtschaftsbetrieb. Aus regionalen Produkten kreiert Heinz Reitbauer mit viel Respekt vor der Natur raffinierte Gerichte. Ausgezeichnet mit zwei Michelin-Sternen.
Weinkarte
Umfangreiche Weinkarte mit rund 4'500 Positionen und Fokus auf die Wachau.
Service
Freundlich, kompetent und zuvorkommend agiert das Service-Team unter der Leitung von Birgit Reitbauer.

Steirereck Restaurant, Wien

Das Steirereck ist Wiens und Österreichs bekanntestes Restaurant. 2005 hat Heinz Reitbauer jr. das legendäre Steirereck von seinen Eltern übernommen. 2014 ist der luftige Glaskubus im Stadtpark komplett umgebaut worden. Viel Glas, gezackte Holzwände, ein Boden aus steirischem Zement und Donausandstein sorgen für den neuen luftigen Look. Wir nehmen Platz an den weiss eingedeckten Tischen und machen uns auf, die vielversprechende Speisekarte zu studieren. Wir ordern zum Auftakt den lauwarmen Artischocken-Salat mit Kräutern und Artischocken-Nage nappiert, gefolgt von Flusskrebsen mit Pastinaken-Milchrahmstrudel und Limettenbutter. Im Hauptgang kosten wir das Wiener Schnitzel vom Milchkalb – die Panade ist goldbraun und kross, innen ist das Schnitzel butterzart und saftig. Zum Abschluss: ein luftiges Isabella Trauben Soufflé mit kandierter Schönbrunner Orange und dazu ein Buttermilch-Jaina-Schokoladeneis. Jeder Gang war ein Hochgenuss – für uns ist das Steirereck wohlverdient das beste Restaurant in Wien. Ruhetage: Samstag und Sonntag
Preisskala €€€
Wir lieben nicht nur die kreativen Gerichte von Heinz Reitbauer, sondern auch deren Präsentation – vom ausladenden Brotwagen mit seinen 25 Sorten, über die Notizkärtchen, die zu jedem Gericht abgegeben werden, bis zum legendären Käsewagen.
Da das Restaurant am Wochenende geschlossen hat, muss man bereits freitags anreisen, um in den Genuss von Heinz Reitbauers Küche zu kommen.

Standort: Wien | Österreich

Steirereck
Am Heumarkt 2A · 1030 Wien
Telefon +43 1 713 31 68

wien@steirereck.at
https://www.steirereck.at

Pillow & Pepper Insiderwissen